Login as a User

how to insulate a metal roof

1. Questions
  2. >
  3. Category: Roofing
  4. >
  5. how to insulate a metal roof
Asked: 2019-11-29 14:41:17
I've got an oldish roof (but it's in good condition, I've checked) and it's metal. I want to put in some insulation as I think we could do with it in winter. Is this possible?

Answered: 2019-11-29 22:33:20

Yes, get some rigid insulation and put that under the roof (probably under the purlins?). Then put in some fibreglass batts, and you'll need some kind of vapor barrier for closer to your actual living space, unless there's a vent up there, but I'd imagine there is not. You need the vapor barrier to prevent condensation, otherwise there'll be a build-up.

Answered: 2019-11-30 10:48:32

This certainly is possible. I've done it several times (yes, I'm a professional). You can actually do it yourself, there's a great instructive video on the DIY Knuckleheads channel on Youtube. Find it here: href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tnQ98HvfKE" > description

Answered: 2019-11-29 21:50:39

If you don't have a pile of cash (or need to save some money) then this is the poor man's way of doing it. It still works, and it will keep your home cool/warmer and dry. Href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPlaSg657uY&feature=youtu.be" > description

Answered: 2019-11-30 05:11:00

Use foam batting. It lays flat and can be easily installed over or under the sheathing. It comes in panels and it's super easy to install. Since my husband died 6 years ago, I've had to do all these things myself and this was one of the easier things to do.

Answered: 2019-11-29 18:10:14